Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size

Faculty Council

OISE's Faculty Council sets and approves academic policy, principles, priorities, and the general direction for the teaching and research activities of OISE. Reporting up through OISE Council are several standing committees including the Appeals Committee, Equity Committee, Executive Committee (agenda-setting committee of Council), Academic Programs Committee, and the Research Committee.


Council is composed of 61 elected members (30 Teaching Staff, 1 Librarian, 5 Other Academic Appointees, 15 Graduate Students and 10 Administrative Staff), who are elected by their constituencies. There are 15 ex-officio members and 8 ex-officio (non-voting) members.


The Faculty Council runs elections and by-elections for vacant elected positions on the Faculty Council and Standing Committees alternately, each year in the early fall. The elections process is mostly electronic.


Teaching Staff, Librarians, Graduate Students and Administrative Staff members of Council may choose to serve one- or two-year terms. Other Academic Appointees serve one-year terms. 


There are a minimum of four governance meetings of Council each academic year (July 1 - June 30), and a schedule of meetings of the Faculty Council and its Standing Committees is circulated among the OISE community and posted on the governance website each year by the month of July.

Operating Procedures (By-Laws)

The Bylaws, which were last updated by Faculty Council on October 19, 2020, govern the operating procedures for the Faculty Council and Standing Committees. The Bylaws include rules for electing/appointing members, terms of office, mandate and membership of Standing Committees, and general operating procedures.