Jump to Main Content
Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size
Home   |   ROSI   |   U of T   |   Portal    |   Site Map

Ontario Institute for Studies in Education of the University of Toronto


One of the goals emerging from the Strategic Plan was to rethink the structure of our departments to ensure a strong OISE in the years ahead. After substantial institute-wide consultation, OISE decided on a four-department model that supported the following guiding principles:

  1. Promote and support excellence in programs and research
  2. Distinguish OISE from other faculties of education around the world
  3. Foster innovation, inter-disciplinarity and internationalization
  4. Build on existing strengths while nurturing new and emerging areas of research and programming
  5. Strengthen the alignment between graduate and undergraduate programs
  6. Reflect and respect academic disciplines/affiliations

On February 16, 2012, as the final step in the approval process, the University of Toronto Governing Council approved the new four-department structure for OISE. With programs grouped under four distinct yet interrelated areas of scholarship within the broader field of educational studies, OISE’s new departments will be comprehensive, with each contributing to both graduate and undergraduate programs, B.Ed. and research.

Effective July 1, 2012 OISE's four new departments are:

  • Applied Psychology and Human Development
  • Curriculum, Teaching and Learning
  • Humanities, Social Sciences and Social Justice Education
  • Leadership, Higher and Adult Education