Jump to Main Content
Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto Home| OISE| U of T| Quercus| Site Map | Contact Us | Feeling Distressed?
INSPIRING EDUCATION | oise.utoronto.ca
Centre for Diversity in Counselling and Psychotherapy
Go to selected destination

June 5 - 7, 2014

8th Critical Multicultural Counselling & Psychotherapy Conference

Black Perspectives in Counselling, Psychology
and Psychotherapy

A Free Admission Conference
(Professors with grants are requested to register for $100 on opening day)

Sponsored by:
Department of Applied Psychology & Human Development, OISE

  Proposal Submission (.doc) |  Registration  |  Conference Program (pdf) |  Accomodation & Travel    List of Presenters


Share this web page and 2014 Conference Poster (jpeg) with your friends and colleagues.

2014 poster thumbnail

Proposal Submission Form

Find our Proposal Submission Form (Word) and submit by March 1 2014.  Submission details are found on the form.

Conference Themes

Please note on your Submission Form to which Conference Themes (pdf) your contribution is connected.

Conference Registration

Registration is free.  Professors with grants are requested to register for $100 on opening day. Details to be provided shortly.


Conference Program

Please find here the Conference Program (pdf) with schedule, abstracts and bios.  Updated: May 30th.

List of Presenters

Dr. Josephine Etowa, Loyer-DaSilva Research Chair in Public Health Nursing, University of Ottawa.



Dr. Edwin J Nichols, American Black Psychologists, Washington, DC

Ed Nichols

Dr. Suman Fernando; Consultant Psychiatrist, Chase Farm Hospital, Enfield, Middlesex; Visiting Professor, London Metropolitan University, UK.


Suman Fernando

Dr. Jaswant Guzder, Head of Child Psychiatry, Director of Childhood Disorders Day Hospital Center, University of McGill.


Jaswant Guzder

Dr. Mary Olufunmilayo Adekson, St. Bonaventure University, New York.



Dr. Mokgadi Moletsane, Head of Psychology, University of Western Cape, South Africa.

Abstract forthcoming.


Dr. Niyi Bojuwoye, University of Western Cape, South Africa
Dr. Uwe P. Gielen, IICCP, St. Francis College Gielen
Dr. Dinesh Sharma, SUNY Binghampton; IICCP, St. Francis College sharma
Dr. Rinaldo Walcott, OISE, University of Toronto walcott
Dr. Tanya Titchkosky, OISE, University of Toronto titchkosky
Dr. Charmaine Williams, Faculty of Social Woirk, University of Toronto Williams
Dr. Ted Lo, Psychiatrist in Private Practice, Toronto lo

Dr. Anissa Talahite, University of Toronto at Scarborough

Dr. Anna Agathagangelo, York University Anna
Dr. Sindiswa Stofiles, University of the Western Cape stofiles

Dr. Vasanthi Valoo, York University

Dr. Clemmont Vontress.  See CDCP Lifetime Achievement Award web page. vontress
Dr. Renee Rawlins, Sessional Lecturer, OISE rawlins
Dr. Deone Curling, Women's Health in Women's Hands deone
Dr. Alvin Curling, former Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario; former Ambassador to the Dominican Republic curling
Pascale C. Annoual, Kiuna Institution pascale
Camille Hannays-King, Humber College camille
Sandra Dixon, University of Calgary dixon

Other speakers include:

Desa Daniel
Deanne Edwards (Toronto Catholic District School Board)
Carla Grey (Centennial College)
V.C. Rhonda Hackett
Anu Lala
Andre Marseille
Bradley Murray
Raylene Prieto
Jamey Leeanne Rislin
Rebecca Rogerson
Steven Ruhinda
Dr. Shafik Sunderani


Accommodation & Travel

If you are travelling from another province or country and need accomodation, we would like to kindly suggest that you make reservations at the Victoria College (University) Residences at the University of Toronto.

Email Address: accom.victoria@utoronto.ca

Tel: 416-585- 4524

Single rooms  - $64.00 + tax (breakfast included)

Double rooms - $86.00 + tax (breakfast included).

For those travelling with a visa, please contact us if you need a formal letter of invitation from our department.