Office of the Dean

Interim Dean of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education

Dr. Normand Labrie, Interim Dean of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, is an internationally influential scholar with teaching and research programs in the areas of linguistic pluralism, language politics, linguistic minorities, and discourse analysis.  He has held several senior administrative positions at OISE and elsewhere and has been recognized by a number of prestigious honours.

A professor in the Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning, Professor Labrie has been at OISE since 1991 and holds a long and successful history of leadership at the Institute. Highlights of his service include terms spent as Associate Dean, Programs; Associate Dean, Research; Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies; and Head, Centre for Franco-Ontarian Studies (CREFO). 

From 2012 to 2015, he served as Scientific Director at Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture, and from 2018 to 2019 as Interim President of the Université de l'Ontario français (UOF).  Dr. Labrie is also a member of the Governing Council of Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Chair of its Programs Committee.

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and Chevalier of the Order of La Pléiade, Assembly of Parliamentarians of the Francophonie. In 2019, he received an honorary degree from the Université du Québec à Rimouski.

Normand Labrie

Ontario Institute for Studies in Education Leadership Team

Sarfaroz Niyozov
Sarfaroz Niyozov

Interim Associate Dean, Programs

Michele Peterson-Badali
Michele Peterson-Badali

Associate Dean,
Research, International & Innovation

Douglas McDougall
Doug McDougall

Interim Chair, Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning

Creso Sá
Creso Sa

Chair, Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education

Njoki Wane
Njoki Wane

Chair, Department of Social Justice Education

Earl Woodruff
Earl Woodruff

Chair, Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development

Helen Huang
Helen Huang

Chief Administrative Officer

Administrative Leadership Team

For matters related to the Office of the Dean or to arrange an appointment with the Dean, please contact For all other inquiries please review the following contact information:

Academic Programs & Operations | Mindy Harris, Director |

Advancement, Alumni, Communications & External Relations | Sim Kapoor, Director |

Chief Administrative Office | Tessa Barclay, Executive Coordinator | 

Continuing & Professional Learning | Elisabeth Rees-Johnstone, Executive Director,

Education Commons - Information Technology | Julia Duncan, Director |

Finance & Planning | Rushain Abbasi, Director |

Governance, Policy & Planning | Biljana Cuckovic, Director,

Human Resources | Madelaine Panoulias, Manager |

Library OISE | Monique Flaccavento, Acting Director |

Office of the Dean, Faculty Life | Jesse Sims, Director |

Office of the Dean | Denise Makovac, Executive Assistant to the Dean |

Registrars Office & Student Experience | Sheldon Grabke, Registrar & Senior Director |

Research & International Initiatives | Lara Cartmale, Director |

Space Planning, Facilities & Services | Leah Scherk, Manager |