Jump to Main Content
Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size

Strategic Advisory Group


The OISE Strategic Advisory Group’s mandate is to provide advice to the Dean and the OISE community regarding issues that have the most significant impact on the accomplishments of the Institute’s mission and goals, including the advancement of research, teaching and academic programs. Given the centrality of Teacher Education to OISE’s mission, the SAG also acts in an advisory and liaison capacity in relation to OISE’s teacher education programs—the Master of Teaching (MT), and the Master of Arts in Child Study and Education (MA-CSE).


External members are drawn from diverse communities and chosen for their expertise and insight.

  • Pedro Barata, Vice President, Communications & Public Affairs at United Way Toronto & York Region
  • Rahul K. Bhardwaj, President of the Institute of Corporate Directors (formerly President & CEO of the Toronto Foundation)
  • Jean-Marc Chouinard, Vice-President, Strategy & Partnerships, the Lucie and André Chagnon Foundation
  • Neil Davis, Lawyer with Davis Webb LLP and community leader
  • Lisa de Wilde, C.M. Chief Executive Officer, TVO
  • MacArthur Hunter, Retired Principal, Toronto District School Board (TDSB); volunteer coach in high needs schools in the TDSB
  • Diane Longboat, Senior Project Manager, Guiding Directions Implementation at CAMH, ceremonial leader, traditional teacher and healer, member of the Turtle Clan and Mohawk Nation
  • John Malloy, Director of Education at the Toronto District School Board
  • Deb Matthews, former MPP and Minister in several ministries including Health and Long Term Care, Advanced Education and Skills Development, Children and Youth Services
  • Kwame McKenzie, Director of Health Equity at CAMH
  • Ratna Omidvar, Senator for Ontario, Senate of Canada
  • Bruce Rodriguez, CEO of the Education Quality and Accountability Office for Ontario (recently appointed Ontario’s Deputy Minister of Education)
  • Anne Sado, President, George Brown College, and Chair of the Board of ORION

Ex-Officio members include OISE Dean and Associate Deans, Chief Administrative Officer and Special Advisor to the Dean on External Relations.