Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size

OISE faculty recognized at U of T Salutes! celebration for national and international research contributions, honours

February 28, 2018


Professors George Dei (left), Kathleen Gallagher (centre), and Keith Stanovich (right), honoured at this year's U of T Salutes! celebration for research accolades and innovation excellence in education. 


Three OISE faculty members have been honoured at the recent U of T Salutes! event held on February 26, 2018 for research contributions and awards they received in 2017. U of T Salutes! is an annual celebration of research accolades and innovation excellence honouring faculty who have received national and international research awards, honours and prizes.

Professor George Sefa Dei, Department of Social Justice Education, was recognized for his Fellowship with the Royal Society of Canada. Prof. Dei is known for his anti-racist research and its implications for education.

Keith Stanovich, Professor Emeritus in OISE’s Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development and former Canada Research Chair of Applied Cognitive Science, was recognized for the Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) Award he received from the Association of American Publishers. 

Kathleen Gallagher, Professor in the Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning was one of seven to receive the new President’s Impact Award. The award, presented by U of T President Meric Gertler, honours the achievements of scholars whose work has had significant impact well beyond academia.

Congratulations to Professors Dei, Stanovich and Gallagher for these honours that showcase remarkable accomplishments and represent OISE’s ongoing pursuit of excellence.