Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size

OISE honours its inspiring educators

March 27, 2015

Eileen Thomas

The OISE community of faculty, students, alumni and staff celebrated its own at the annual Honouring Inspiring Educators reception on March 26. This year’s honorees included the winners of OISE’s teaching awards: Marvin Zuker - Distinguished Contributions to Teaching; Peter Sawchuk - David E. Hunt Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching; Arlo Kempf - Award for Excellence in Initial Teacher Education; and Andrea Carnegie - Award for Excellence in Continuing and Professional Learning.

“The OISE Teaching Awards acknowledge inspiring educators who have demonstrated a deep commitment to excellence in teaching and who have made outstanding contributions to teaching and learning at OISE, and the University community. These outstanding faculty members advanced their students’ development and learning in ways that will continue to benefit teaching and learning in Canada now and into the future,” said Jeanne Watson, Associate Dean of Programs.

Marvin Zuker and Heather BerkeleyJudge Marvin Zuker, recipient of the Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching, is a Family Court judge sitting in Toronto who has taught 100 consecutive semesters at OISE since 1982. Zuker, an expert on educational and family law, engages students and invests in their learning through relating theoretical and legal aspects of educational administration to real-life experiences that teachers and administrators confront daily in their classrooms. “I have often cited Judge Zuker as the best educator I had at OISE, because of his combination of real life experience, his genuine desire to connect with his students and his flexible approach. He became a respected mentor, teacher and indeed friend,” says Joseph Mickhael,  Associate Dean of the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education.

Reflecting on his own teaching and learning journey, Zuker says, “I’ve always loved teaching. In law school, in 1966, Centennial College had just opened, so I went there and told them I’d like to teach law, and they hired me. Later, I became a lawyer, and after I was appointed a judge, I came to OISE to do my MEd (1973) because I was interested in education law. It’s not so much teachers or principals have to become lawyers, it’s becoming aware. What’s most important is the understanding that you have to care as an educator.”

Peter Sawchuk, a professor in the Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education is the recipient of the David E. Hunt Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching. Sawchuk was chosen for this award because of the profound impact his innovative and inspiring teaching and supervision has had on OISE students, creating learning environments that supports them both inside and outside the classroom. “It is no surprise that Peter has exemplified exceptional leadership qualities throughout his career. His remarkable skills and talents extend well beyond the experiences of his students, and he has earned the respect of his peers as well as staff members,” says PhD candidate Cindy Malachowski.

"Working closely with students has always been a favourite part of my job. Seeing them grow, learn and master material is still a wonder to behold for me. Of course, I feel especially grateful to the students who took the time and energy out of their busy schedules to do all the work necessary for making a submission. Every teacher should be so lucky,” says Sawchuk.

Arlo and JeanneArlo Kempf, recipient of the Award for Excellence in Initial Teacher Education is an instructor and program director in OISE’s concurrent initial teacher education program, as well as in the Master of Teaching program in the Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning. Kempf received a broad level of support from across OISE and the two programs that stood out. “Dr. Kempf is much more than simply an incredibly popular teacher. He produces enormously positive results and develops students extremely well,” remarked colleague Peter Sawchuk.

“It feels wonderful to receive this award from OISE, and specifically from OISE students. It has been a pleasure and a privilege to work with so many engaged and critical students this year, and I can’t help but think this recognition reflects the work of my classes as a whole, rather than any one individual. I am very grateful to have been nominated and honoured to receive the award,” says Kempf.

Andrea Evelyn and CarolAndrea Carnegie (far left) is the recipient of the Award for Excellence in Continuing and Professional Learning. Carnegie, who holds a MA in Curriculum Studies and Teacher Development, is a teacher in the Peel District School Board. Her concern for her students and pedagogical skills are widely acknowledged and highly respected among teacher candidates and staff. “Andrea’s ability to work with and foster 21st Century learning has truly enriched the skills of teacher candidates… We have flourished as individuals and educators and have no doubt that she will inspire future teacher candidates,” declared two former OISE graduates who supported her nomination.

“I am deeply humbled by this honour from the OISE community. It is a tremendous feeling to know that my interactions with the teacher candidates are having such a profound impact on their learning and on their careers as educators. My sincere appreciation and gratitude to the OISE community upon receiving this award,” Carnegie says.

Four faculty colleagues who received promotion/awarded tenure were honoured at the event as well: Associate Professor Carol Campbell (LHAE) awarded tenure; Abby Goldstein (APHD) awarded tenure and promoted to Associate Professor;  Enrica Piccardo (CTL) awarded tenure and promoted to Associate Professor;  and Peter Sawchuk (LHAE) promoted to Full Professor, all effective July 1, 2014.

“The University has established a rigorous and comprehensive evaluation process to award tenure and promotion to associate professor, promotion to full professor, or promotion to senior lecturer status,” said Dean Julia O’Sullivan. “This is a wonderful accomplishment for each of them, and a highly significant milestone in their academic careers.”