Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size


2010 OISE Dr Claire Alleyne Staff Excellence Award Announced

By: Kate Brand Tippin

May 20, 2010

Margaret Brennan, OISE graduate studies financial awards officer, is the 2010 recipient of the Dr Claire Alleyne Staff Excellence Award.

Margaret was unanimously selected by the awards committee in account of her exemplary service, dedication to students, collegiality with staff and faculty colleagues, and the substantial and lasting contributions she has made to the quality of student life at OISE. 

“Those who have worked with Margaret recognize her immense contribution to the community,” said Kristine Pearson, SESE graduate student liaison officer, who was among 32 individuals who nominated Margaret for this award.

Margaret has worked at U of T for 43 years. She began her work as a junior clerical assistant and was promoted several times until her most recent promotion in 1993 in her current position. She is responsible for the administration and coordination of graduate funding, assistantships, and awards.

According to her nominators, she does this with a keen eye for detail, good humour and kindness. 

One of her nominators,  Kari Dehli, Chair of the Department of Sociology and Equity Studies in Education, recalls: “I have known Marg since I was a student at OISE and she was working in the History and Philosophy Department. She was fun, generous with her time and very knowledgeable. It takes a special kind of person to endure and excel in the position she holds, and Marg is that kind of person. Marg is part of the heart and soul of OISE.”

Bryan Gopaul, a PhD candidate in the Department of Theory and Policy Studies wrote in his letter of support for Margaret’s nomination, “Margaret Brennan is crucial to the student community at OISE and this recognition should be one of many for this committed, generous and humble individual.”

The Staff Excellence Award was created in 2007 to recognize the important role of staff in furthering OISE’s mission. In 2009, the name of the award was changed to honour the OISE Registrar,  Dr. Claire Alleyne, on her retirement from OISE after 35 years of exemplary service. All members of the OISE community are invited to submit nominations for the Dr. Claire Alleyne Staff Excellence Award. 

Past recipients include Susan R. Hall, Graduate Program and Admissions Coordinator, Department of Adult Education and Counselling Psychology in 2009 and Kristine Pearson, Graduate Studies Student Liaison Officer, Department of Sociology and Equity Studies in Education in 2008.           

This award was presented to Margaret on Friday, May 28 at the OISE Awards and Commendations Ceremony.