Jump to Main Content
Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size

Research Chairs

Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs program is the cornerstone of Canada’s innovation strategy. Chairholders advance their fields, not only by achieving excellence in their own research, but also by coordinating the efforts of other researchers within their area of expertise.

Professor Jeffrey AnsloosJeffrey Ansloos
Canada Research Chair in: Critical Studies in Indigenous Health and Social Action on Suicide

Description of Research: This CRC aims to deepen knowledge of the structural dimensions of suicide for Indigenous youth and their communities, a population disproportionately affected by suicide in Canada.  By drawing on Indigenous studies, critical suicide studies and community psychology, this program of research will grapple with the social, political, economic, cultural, environmental, and technological factors that inform theories of and social responses to suicide. The program aims to understand how these dimensions intersect with diverse social identities and lived experiences of Indigenous peoples, and the influence of these factors on suicide. In employing community-based and social action research, and qualitative, arts-based and new media-oriented methods, this CRC will identify, develop and share practices which address structural dimensions of suicide, and nourish vitality and life within Indigenous youth and communities.

Scott Davies

Scott Davies
Canada Research Chair in: Data, Equity and Policy in Education
Description of Research: My multi-pronged research agenda will create and analyze novel, large-scale and logitudinal data on student achievement and equity.


Canada Research Chair in: Psychology of Emerging Adulthood
Description of Research: Understanding of risk behaviours and well-being in emerging adulthood, a psychologically unique developmental stage.
Kang Lee
Canada Research Chair in: Moral Development and Developmental Neuroscience 
Description of Research: Development of lying in children with severe conduct problems.
Eve Tuck
Canada Research Chair in: Indigenous Methodologies with Youth and Communities 
Canada Research Chair in: Iethi’nihsténha Ohwentsia’kékha (Land), Resurgence, Reconciliation and the Politics
of Education

Endowed Chairs

Jennifer JenkinsJennifer Jenkins
Atkinson Charitable Foundation Chair in Early Child Development and Education 
Professor Jenkins is a distinguished and internationally recognized scholar, and a leader in the generation and dissemination of scientific knowledge in the field of child development and children’s mental health. She has conducted longitudinal cohort studies examining the interplay between biological vulnerability and high-risk environments and the cognitive and social-emotional development of preschool and school-aged children. She has a commitment to the dissemination of excellent quality, scientific knowledge to parents, educators and policy makers on a range of critical issues related to early childhood.


James Slotta
The Presidents' Chair in Education and Knowledge Technologies
As of July 1, 2019, Jim Slotta is the University of Toronto Presidents’ Chair in Education and Knowledge Technologies. This five-year term Chair is awarded to an OISE scholar with proven expertise in education, learning sciences, and technology, who has a reputation as a world leader in innovative knowledge building and a well-established network of international and national partners. Since 2005, Jim Slotta has directed the ENCORE lab - a team of students, designers and developers who investigate new models of collaborative and collective inquiry using media and technology, as well as the physical and virtual learning environments.  Research projects are situated within smart classrooms and mobile technology environments, featuring user-contributed content, aggregated and emergent forms of knowledge, and a variety of technology scaffolds for the orchestration of individual, small group, and community activities. This work explores topics such as the nature of collective epistemology and knowledge building discourse, the role of immersive simulations, representations of community knowledge, learning across contexts, and tangible and embodied interactions for learning.
William G. Davis Chair in Community College Leadership
Professor Wheelahan will enhance research and policy discourse on the role of community colleges and other non-university post-secondary institutions, and lead OISE's community college initiatives. She is widely known for her work on student equity, lifelong learning, qualifications frameworks, relationships between the vocational education and training and higher education sectors, as well as credit transfer and articulation between qualifications in the Vocational and Educational Training (VET) and higher education sectors. The purpose of the Chair is to contribute to the development of Ontario's community college system through education and leadership training, research, policy development, and service.

Ontario Research Chair
Chair in Postsecondary Education Policy and Measurement
As Chair, Professor Childs will provide leadership in poststecondary education policy and measurement through: programs of research in the development and evaluation of access initiatives for underrepresented groups, the responsible collection and use of demographic data on applicant and student populations, and the development and use of innovative measures to support students' learning. Administered by the Council of Ontario Universities, Ontario Research Chairs were established by the Ontario government to develop excellence, create world-class centres of research, and enhance Ontario's competitiveness in Canada's knowledge-based economy.

Distinguished Professorships
University of Toronto Distinguished Professor of Curriculum, Teaching, and Learning
Professor Kathleen Gallagher is a leading Canadian education scholar who invokes the power of theatre to educate students in elementary and high schools about complex social issues.
Prof. Marlene Scardamalia  Marlene Scardamalia
  University of Toronto  Distinguished Professor of  
  Knowledge Innovation & Technology
  Over her long career, Professor Scardamalia has distinguished 
  herself as an innovative, visionary scholar, and has made
  significant advances in Knowledge Building theory, pedagogy,and technology. She is an internationally recognized leader in education and knowledge technologies and the recipient of awards from the World Cultural Council, ORION, Computer Supported Collaborative Learning, and the Ontario Psychological Association.