Jump to Main Content
Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size

Honours and Awards

Student and Recent Graduate Awardees

Dr. Polina Kukar is the recipient of the 2020 E. Lisa Panyotidis Dissertation Award by the Canadian Association of Foundations of Education.

Suleyman Demi is the recipient of the 2019 Lisa Robinson Award for Excellence in Research. 

Leroy Baker is the recipient of the 2019 Dionne Brand Award for Excellence in Liberal Arts.

Suleyman Demi and Ezinwanne Odozor are recipients of the 2019 Gordon Cressy Leadership award. 

Jessica Wright is recipient of the Ontario Graduate Scholarship in both 2017-2018 and 2018-2019, as well as the 2018-2019 recipient of the University of Toronto Graduate Award for Scholarly Achievement in the Area of Gender-Based Violence.

Maya Chacaby is recipient of the 2017-2018 Amilcare Iannucci Graduate Fellowship in the Humanities.

Staff Awardees

Sezen Atacan is recipient of the Dr. Claire Alleyne Staff Excellence Award.

Faculty Awardees

Miglena Todorova is awarded 2019 SSHRC Insight Development Grant for "Sexual and Gender-based Violence among International Students: A Qualitative Approach."

Miglena Todorova is awarded 2019 SSHRC Connection Grant for "Social Innovation in Media Literacy Education." 

rosalind hampton is awarded 2019 SSHRC Insight Development Grant for "Coalition Building by and with Black Students at Canadian Univerities from 1960-2000."  

rosalind hampton is the recipient of 2019 Connaught New Researcher Award for "Plotting Black Studies in Canada."

Lauren Bialystok is the recipient of the 2018 OISE Distinguished Contributions to Teaching.

Abigail Bakan is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "The UN as knowledge producer: World conferences on women, racialized and Indigenous people." 

George Dei is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "The potential for elders' cultural knowledge to contribute to a new education futurity." 

John Portelli is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "Investigating the impact of the Ontario equity policy." 

Njoki Wane is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "Black women's experience in leadership positions in Canadian universities." 

George Dei has been elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada 2017. This is recognition of “distinguished scholars and artists selected on the basis of their exceptional contributions,” following an extensive nomination and selection process across Canada.


Honours and Awards Archive

Below is a list of past award recipients.

Alumni Awardees

Anne McGuire (PhD 2011) wins the first Tobin Siebers prize in Disability Studies in the Humanities at the Modern Languages Association for her book "War on Autism: On the Cultural Logic of Normative Violence"

Kate Cairns (PhD 2011) wins the 2013 Alice Wilson Award from the Royal Society of Canada.

Paloma Villegas (PhD 2012) wins the 2012 OISE Leithwood Award for Oustanding Thesis of the Year.

Michael Mcgarry (PhD 2013) wins the 2014 Canadian Philosophy of Education Society Dissertation Award (To read, write, and cast accounts: Foucault, Governmentality and Education in Upper Canada/Canada West).

Student Awardees

Academic Excellence

Laura Kwak (OISE) 2013-2014

Best Student Paper

Laura Landertinger, Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA) for "The Best Student Paper" presented at the annual NAISA Conference in 2014

Dr. E. Bruce Hendrick Scholarship

Terri-Lynn Langdon, Ph.D. candidate, recipeint of the Dr. E. Bruce Hendrick Scholarship.

Excellence In Leadership

Jacqui Spencer, recipient of the Leonard Braithwaite Award for Excellence in Leadership.

Joseph-Armand Bombardier

Marissa Largo, Doctoral (2013-16)

Ashling Ligate, Masters

Averie MacDonald, Masters

Amanda Parris, Masters

Jaclyn San Antonio, Doctoral (2013-16)

OISE Muriel Fung Student Appreciation Award

Harriet Akanmori, PhD student (2015)

Francisco Villegas, PhD Candidate (2014)

Cindy Ruvashtre Sinclair, PhD Candidate (2013)

Ontario Graduate Scholarship

Raneem Azzam (2013)

Leroy Baker (2014)

Veronica Carr (2013)

Patricia Douglas (2013)

Trystan Goetze (2013)

Jennifer Jagire (2013)

Yongfang Jia (2013)

Natalie Kourie-Towe (2013)

Laura Kwak (2013)

Laura Landertinger (2013)

Jia Luo (2013)

Katherine Milley (2013)

Selena Nemorin (2013)

Kendra Pitt (2013)

Eric Ritskes (2013)

Nashwa Salem (2013)

Jijian Voronka (2013)


Laura Landertinger (2014)

Ashling Ligate (2013)

Averie MacDonald (2013)

Amanda Parris (2013)

Aman Sium (2013)

Preeia Surajbali (2013)

U of T Women's Association A&C Coman Scholarship

Kate Zankowics, winner of the University of Toronto Women's Association A&C Coman Scholarship, 2013-2014

Vanier Scholarship

David Pereira, Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships 2013-16

William Waters Scholarship

Roopa Cheema, William Waters Scholarship

Surekha Gangopadhyay, William Waters Scholarship