Honours & Awards

Three students seated and smiling at OISE convocation
Honours & Awards

Student & Recent Graduate Awards

Joel Mukwedeya is the recipient of the 2021 Arbor Award 

Deserene Burrell-Ingram is the recipient of 2021 Sister A.T. Sheehan as well as the 2021 CSJ Graduate Fellowship.

Abarna Selvarajah is the recipient of the 2021 Danny and Muriel Fung Graduate Award as well as the 2021 CCDI Fiftieth Anniversary First Families Award.

Terri-Lynn Langdon is the recipient of the 2020 Eric Waldron Scholarship.

Dr. Polina Kukar is the recipient of the 2020 E. Lisa Panyotidis Dissertation Award by the Canadian Association of Foundations of Education.

Suleyman Demi is the recipient of the 2019 Lisa Robinson Award for Excellence in Research. 

Leroy Baker is the recipient of the 2019 Dionne Brand Award for Excellence in Liberal Arts.

Suleyman Demi and Ezinwanne Odozor are recipients of the 2019 Gordon Cressy Leadership award. 

Jessica Wright is recipient of the Ontario Graduate Scholarship in both 2017-2018 and 2018-2019, as well as the 2018-2019 recipient of the University of Toronto Graduate Award for Scholarly Achievement in the Area of Gender-Based Violence.

Maya Chacaby is recipient of the 2017-2018 Amilcare Iannucci Graduate Fellowship in the Humanities.

Faculty Awards

Professor Eve Tuck is the Chancellor Jackman Faculty Research Fellow in the Humanities, 2020-21.

Professor Miglena Todorova is awarded 2019 SSHRC Insight Development Grant for "Sexual and Gender-based Violence among International Students: A Qualitative Approach."

Professor Miglena Todorova is awarded 2019 SSHRC Connection Grant for "Social Innovation in Media Literacy Education." 

Professor Rosalind Hampton is awarded 2019 SSHRC Insight Development Grant for "Coalition Building by and with Black Students at Canadian Universities from 1960-2000."  

Professor Rosalind Hampton is the recipient of 2019 Connaught New Researcher Award for "Plotting Black Studies in Canada."

Professor Megan Boler has been awarded a Digital Ecosystem Research Challenge grant for her research project, "Affective Media, Social Movements, and Digital Dissent: Emotions and Democratic Participation in the 'Post-Truth' Era".

Professor Emeriti Dorothy Smith, is appointed to the Order of Canada for "extending the boundaries of traditional sociology to incorporate a feminist perspective, and for developing institutional ethnography,” in 2019.

Professor Lauren Bialystok is the recipient of the 2018 OISE Distinguished Contributions to Teaching.

Professor Abigail Bakan is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "The UN as knowledge producer: World conferences on women, racialized and Indigenous people." 

Professor George Dei is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "The potential for elders' cultural knowledge to contribute to a new education futurity." 

Professor John Portelli is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "Investigating the impact of the Ontario equity policy." 

Professor Njoki Wane is awarded 2017 SSHRC Insight Grant for "Black women's experience in leadership positions in Canadian universities." 

Professor George Dei has been elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada 2017. This is recognition of “distinguished scholars and artists selected on the basis of their exceptional contributions,” following an extensive nomination and selection process across Canada.

Staff Awards

Sezen Atacan is recipient of the 2021-2022 OISE Staff Excellence Innovation Award as a part of OISE's Slate Working Group.

Sezen Atacan is recipient of the Dr. Claire Alleyne Staff Excellence Award.

Honours & Awards Archive

Anne McGuire (PhD 2011) wins the first Tobin Siebers prize in Disability Studies in the Humanities at the Modern Languages Association for her book "War on Autism: On the Cultural Logic of Normative Violence"

Kate Cairns (PhD 2011) wins the 2013 Alice Wilson Award from the Royal Society of Canada.

Paloma Villegas (PhD 2012) wins the 2012 OISE Leithwood Award for Oustanding Thesis of the Year.

Michael Mcgarry (PhD 2013) wins the 2014 Canadian Philosophy of Education Society Dissertation Award (To read, write, and cast accounts: Foucault, Governmentality and Education in Upper Canada/Canada West).

Laura Kwak (OISE) 2013-2014

Laura Landertinger, Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA) for "The Best Student Paper" presented at the annual NAISA Conference in 2014

Terri-Lynn Langdon, Ph.D. candidate, recipient of the Dr. E. Bruce Hendrick Scholarship.

Jacqui Spencer, recipient of the Leonard Braithwaite Award for Excellence in Leadership.

Joseph-Armand Bombardier

Marissa Largo, Doctoral (2013-16)

Ashling Ligate, Masters

Averie MacDonald, Masters

Amanda Parris, Masters

Jaclyn San Antonio, Doctoral (2013-16)

Harriet Akanmori, PhD student (2015)

Francisco Villegas, PhD Candidate (2014)

Cindy Ruvashtre Sinclair, PhD Candidate (2013)

Raneem Azzam (2013)

Leroy Baker (2014)

Veronica Carr (2013)

Patricia Douglas (2013)

Trystan Goetze (2013)

Jennifer Jagire (2013)

Yongfang Jia (2013)

Natalie Kourie-Towe (2013)

Laura Kwak (2013)

Laura Landertinger (2013)

Jia Luo (2013)

Katherine Milley (2013)

Selena Nemorin (2013)

Kendra Pitt (2013)

Eric Ritskes (2013)

Nashwa Salem (2013)

Jijian Voronka (2013)

Laura Landertinger (2014)

Ashling Ligate (2013)

Averie MacDonald (2013)

Amanda Parris (2013)

Aman Sium (2013)

Preeia Surajbali (2013)

Kate Zankowics, winner of the University of Toronto Women's Association A&C Coman Scholarship, 2013-2014

David Pereira, Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships 2013-16

Roopa Cheema, William Waters Scholarship

Surekha Gangopadhyay, William Waters Scholarship