Three OISE faculty recognized in latest Canada Research Chair appointments

June 3, 2022
From the left: Professors Elizabeth Buckner, Eve Tuck and Chloe Hamza are among 20 new and renewed appointments for Canada Research Chairs (CRC) at the University of Toronto.

Three faculty members from the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education are among 20 new and renewed appointments for Canada Research Chairs (CRC) at the University of Toronto.

Established in 2000, the Canada Research Chair program represents an investment of roughly $310 million per year to attract and retain top talent in disciplines spanning engineering, the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences. This current announcement will support 119 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 35 Canadian research institutions.

Professor Chloe Hamza, Assistant Professor in OISE’s Department of Applied Psychology and Human Development, has been appointed a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Stress and Coping in Postsecondary Contexts.

Professor Elizabeth Buckner, Assistant Professor in OISE’s Department of Leadership, Higher and Adult Education, has been appointed a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Higher Education for Sustainable Global Development.

Hamza and Buckner are first-time appointments as CRCs.

Professor Eve Tuck has been renewed as a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Methodologies with Youth and Communities. Professor Tuck is an Associate Professor in OISE’s Department of Social Justice Education.

“Professors Tuck, Hamza and Buckner are exceptional scholars whose research programs set the foundations for more equitable, caring and socially responsible education.  They have a tremendous impact nationally and internationally,” said Professor Normand Labrie, Interim Dean of OISE.

Hamza, who leads the CARE (Coping, Affect and Resilience in Education) Lab, will continue her work understanding the development of mental health and well-being among youth, adolescents, and young adults in a variety of educational contexts.

Buckner, who joined OISE in 2017, is focused on examining how post-secondary institutions can promote sustainable development by integrating the concept of sustainability into the fabric of universities. Her findings will inform policy and practice in governments, NGOs and the post-secondary sector.

For Professor Tuck, who was first announced as a Canada Research Chair in 2017, will continue her work building critical knowledge about Indigenous research participatory methodologies.

“Professors Buckner, Hamza and Tuck are already scholars of global influence in their fields,” said Michele Peterson-Badali, OISE’s Associate Dean, Associate Dean, Research, International & Innovation. “I am delighted to see their transformative research acknowledged in these Canada Research Chair awards, which will support their continued leadership in addressing questions of critical importance for achieving the healthy and sustainable futures of individuals and communities.”

Learn more about the University of Toronto’s 20 new and renewed CRCs


Share this Article: